Sabah is one of the member state of Malaysia. Its capital is Kota Kinabalu. It inhabits around 3,117,405 people. It is the second largest state in the country after Sarawak. Sabah is referred to as “The Land Below the Wind”.

It is located on the northern portion of the island of Borneo. It shares a border with the province of North Kalimantan of Indonesia in the South.

The western part of Sabah is mostly mountainous and contains the three highest mountain ranges in Malaysia. The most prominent range is the Crocker Range that houses several mountains of varying height from about 1,000 meters to 4,000 meters. Mount Kinabalu is the highest mountain located at a height of 4,095 meters in the Malay Archipelago.

Beyond the coast of Sabah, there is a number of islands and coral reefs such as Pulau Banggi, Pulau Jambongan, Pulau Balambangan, Pulau Timbun Mata, Pulau Bumbun, Pulau Sebatik, Pulau Sipadan, Pulau Selingan, Pulau Gaya, Pulau Tiga and Pulau Layang-Layang.

The climate of the state is hot and sunny throughout the year. The average temperature of the lowlands is 32 degrees Celsius. Generally people wear light color cotton clothes to save themselves from the heat strokes.

Several ethnic communities are there such as Kadazan-Dusun, Murut, Bajau, Brunei Malay, Indonesians, Filipinos, Chinese and other Muslim groups. All the communities live freely and according to their own.

Malay language is the national language. Other languages are Kadazan, Dusun, Bajau and Murut. Also, each community has its own language that speaks by them freely.

Different communities of the state perform different religions. Some of the popular religions are Islam, Animism, Christianity, Buddhism, etc..

Education facility is good over here as a number of universities and colleges are there that provide quality education to the students. A large number of public as well as private schools are there that provides good education to the students. Also, they are affordable enough to everybody.

The culture of the state reflects in its religion, languages, folk dances, music, architecture, mosques, temples, church, etc.. Traditional dances of the Sabah that shows the culture of the state are Sumazau, Magunatip, Nona Mansaya, Daling-daling, etc.

There are several national or state parks that are used to preserve the wildlife. Some popular parks are Sabah Parks, Kinabalu Park, Tabin Wildlife Reserve, Danum Valley Conservation Area, Turtle Islands Park, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Sipadan Park, Pulau Tiga Park, Crocker Range Park, Tawau Hills Park, etc.. These parks conserve the endangered species such as sea turtles, leopards, rhinoceros, etc..

Various shopping centers, supermarkets are there that open daily from 10 am to 10 pm. One can purchase anything from these markets either it is a daily basis requirement item or the eatable thing.

There are a number of ways to reach the Sabah, these are by bus, by train, by air and by sea. There are 7 ports in this state namely Kota Kinabalu Port, Sepanggar Bay Container Port, Sandakan Port, Tawau Port, Kudat Port, Kunak Port and Lahad Datu Port. All these ports used to transfer people as well as things from one place to another.