Sarawak is one of the two Malaysian states on the island of Borneo. It is also known as Bumi Kenyalang (“Land of the Hornbills”). It is the largest Malaysian state. Its capital is Kuching. It inhabits around 2,420,009 people.

It is situated on the northwest of the island that borders the Malaysian state of Sabah in the northeast, Indonesia to the south and surrounding Brunei. It stretches for over 750 kms along the northeast coastline of Borneo. It is separated from the Indonesian part of Borneo through the ranges of high hills and mountains.

The climate of this state is warm and sunny throughout the year. The temperature ranges from 23 to 32 degree Celsius. During the months between November to February, heavy rainfall occurs.

There are a large number of communities namely Iban, Chinese, Malay, Bidayuh, Melanau, Orang Ulu and many others. This state has more than 40 ethnic groups and each of them has their own distinct language, culture and lifestyle.

Each community performs their own religion. A number of religions are there, but the most common are the Christianity, Islam, Buddhism and Chinese ethnic religion.

Each community group has its own language. Bahasa Malaysia or Malay is the official language. Other widely spoken languages are English, Mandarin, Iban and local dialects.

Anybody can reach there through different modes such as by air, by train or by road. Short flights are there that connect Kuala Lumpur to Kuching which is a gateway to Sarawak. Boats are also a common mode of transport in Sarawak. Buses are the main public transport that transfer people from one place to another.